[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 678 KB, 930x2890, DIY Fileserver.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
22466 No.22466 [Reply] [Original]

Hey Han/diy/men,

I'm trying the /diy/ fileserver and it's my first time working with Linux, a fileserver/ftp, and ssh. I need some help though, I'm using the guide I found here and I've got some questions.

1. I have mixed ram. Three 1GB DDR2 sticks, all different speeds/brands. Normally I've kept all the sizes/speed/brand the same in my rigs. Is it alright to mix and match?

2. I have a 80gb hdd I want to add to the 120gb hdd I've got already. How can I work with this for the fileserver, if I wanted to make the max space 400gb (Can I do raid 0 with two different sized hard drives?)

3. I'm inexperienced with SSH. What program's got the most user-friendly UI when it comes to accessing the server? I downloaded Putty just because the guide said so.

4. If I follow the guide, doesn't it mean everyone has access to my FTP? Is there a way I can password protect it? (Back in my Counter-Strike days, I remember accessing the FTP via browser and it had a log-in. Do want.)

Thanks bros.

>> No.22472

Maths. 200gb max space is what I'm looking for.

>> No.22494

while this is does fit on this board, you might get better results asking in /g/

>> No.22495

This thread is relevant to my interests.

4. It's "localhost"

>> No.22503

Your ram will clock down to the lowest speed module.

You don't want to do any RAID with different sized drives.

Not answering #3 as that's really personal preference, and I just CLI my stuff.

If yuo folow the guide, passwords should already be set up and you should have found upload/download controls. Any good guide will point these out.

>> No.22504

>>22472
Nope.

>>22495
Explain

>> No.22514