[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 7 KB, 250x206, dell_E157FPTdsss.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
165692 No.165692 [Reply] [Original]

hey /diy/, hopefully someone technologically gifted can give some advice. My work just threw away a Dell 15' touch screen monitor (e157fpt) because they couldn't get it to turn on. I took it home as a, hey, maybe I can fix it, but to no avail. First problem is that it gets no power (from a known working cord).

My question is what might be my next step? I don't have experience taking apart monitors and google searches were not helpful. Thanks for any help in advance.

>> No.165702

I've no real experience with this stuff, but I'd guess first thing to do would be open it up and look for obvious broken parts, scorch marks, etc. make sure there's no loose connections, and try not to break anything when you get it open, be gentle.

>> No.165709

Remove any screws from the back and remove it to check for loose connectors. Also check for any blown fuses. Look around the area where the power cord connects for anything obviously broken.

>> No.165993

get it to a repair shop and you have a very good bargain on a dell, or are you supposed to take it back?

>> No.166004

1) Look very carefully for a switch. You wouldn't believe how often perfectly working equipment ends up at freegeek because the owner just didn't know how to turn it on.

2) Open it up and look for a broken fuse. Not many modern electronics have those; but do it anyway.

3) Look for a popped capacitor. There's this thing called the capacitor plague going on because so many shitty capacitors were used during the last decade.

>> No.166013