[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 67 KB, 1316x819, Troubleshooting_flowchart_01.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
1645662 No.1645662 [Reply] [Original]

I'm looking for help on improving this flowchart.

The backstory is that I was browsing /diy/ earlier today, and I saw this thread where someone was trying to fix a speaker of some sort. It was clear that this anon was a total beginner (not much troubleshooting skills, didn't own a multimeter, etc). He was trying to replace some old electrolytic caps that were clearly bad, but wasn't sure why it still wasn't working.

Anyway, several anons jump in with suggestions like: reflow the entire board in your oven, remove every cap and measure it and resolder it, purchase a several hundred dollars piece of test equiptment to measure capacitance in circuit, etc.

So I'm sitting there noticing that no one has stated the obvious yet. Things like is it plugged in? Is the fuse blown? You know, all of the extremely fast, simple, and free stuff to check first. Instead, all these anons were giving instructions on how to do a deep analysis of the circuitry without even asking for a pic of the OPs solder job. They just weren't picking up on the fact that OP was a noob, and was looking for basic advice. It erks me because people that want to show off how they're all (t. electronics expert) don't even know the basics of troubleshooting. Instead of starting with the simplest, non-destructive things, they reveal how little they know by recommending something stupid difficult (to a beginner) AND destructive.

That shit happens all the time around here, so I wanted to make a flow chart to just get the basics out of the way. Just a picture that you can reply to the OP with, saying ---did you check all this stuff FIRST?---