[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 463 KB, 1200x900, Stinky.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
1599100 No.1599100 [Reply] [Original]

Has anyone rewired a chinese atv? I'm getting real tired trying to figure out what goes where in the mess of cables and unknown connectors. I'm half tempted to tear it all out and get a box of connectors and a few spools of various colored cabled, but i'm not entirely sure where gets plugged where without the special connectors or how one would wire the lights and whatnot up.

I am a very bad electrician so i would seek advice from diy.

>> No.1599111

Based on what you wrote, this is not the first project you should be taking on.

>> No.1599120

>>1599111
I'd like to save the wiring harness if possible. but it probably won't last long.
I figure the actual game plan is to try and get this one to working and just slowly replace cabling until the original harness is no longer needed.
I've watched a few vids on people replacing small parts just to get the basic functions to work.

>> No.1599124

i like to label the og harness, remove it, and then lay it out as a patern for byilding a new one using good components. then copy over your labels.
if your unsure, take a pic of what plugs in where and label the connector and the pic the same.

>> No.1599130

>>1599100
not something you want to do unless you actually know what you're doing. fixing a single broken wire here or there is one thing. you have to use the right connectors and make sure everything is water tight, routed properly (no tight bends, no heat etc) and the right size of course. it also really depends how much electronic crap it has like fuel injection or an ECM

>> No.1599138

>>1599124