[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 18 KB, 364x350, 1500737040729.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
1507964 No.1507964 [Reply] [Original]

>Always dreamed of building my own home
>Nothing fancy or elaborate, just something simple that I made with my two hands, to live cheaply and distance myself from the massive financial stress renting/mortgages bring
>No real construction experience outside of basic maintaince skills such as painting, patching drywall, etc.
>Fine dining chef by trade, have been working in it since childhood
>Can litterally make anything food related, from pasta by hand, to cheese, to butcher anything, charcuterie products, etc
>Couldn't even think of where to begin building a home as simple as an A-frame
>Spent my life building a skill-set that has nothing to do with my drean

Is there any hope for me /DIY/?

>> No.1507974

There are some classes that teach how to build with clay and earth. But that can be tricky to get permits. And all the plumbing and electrical instalation may need a licensed pro, depending from where you are.

>> No.1507980

>>1507964
>Is there any hope for me /DIY/?

I would say no, not really.
Mortgages arent as scary or oppressive as you think, and home ownership is pretty nice.

Reality is, its not cheap or easy to buy land and build a house to live frugally.
If you actually have that urge to create non-food with your hands, I would say just channel that energy into metal working, or woodworking, or some other /diy/ hobby.

Home ownership is a nonstop list of things to fix, youll get that experience just by buying a house. It may not be the house you built from scratch, but its yours and you know the good work you are putting into it.

>> No.1507983

>>1507964
Start “doing” and less “saying”.

>> No.1508025

>>1507980