[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 15 KB, 2000x857, 2000px-Schottky_diode_symbol.svg.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
1471126 No.1471126 [Reply] [Original]

wise, aged old thread: >>>>1466111

>RULES (draft, comments welcome):
0. Mains wiring goes to /qtddtot/. PC assembly to >>>/g/.
1. Know the law. You are assumed to understand Ohm's Law and Kirchhoff's circuit laws. If not, try /sqt/ or /qtddtot/
2. RTFD. Re-read all documentation/datasheets pertinent to your components/circuits before you ask.
3. Pics > 1000 words. Post schematic/picture/sketch/9001.5 hours in MS Paint with all part numbers/values when asking for help.
4. Read the problem statement before replying.

>I'm new to electronics, where to get started?
It is an art/science of applying principles to problems. Find problem, learn principles, design and verify solution, build, test, post results, repeat.

>Problem ideas:
http://adafruit.com
http://instructables.com/tag/type-id/category-technology/
http://makezine.com/category/electronics/

>Principles (by increasing skill level):
Mims III, Getting Started in Electronics
Platt, Make: Electronics
Geier, How to Diagnose & Fix Everything Electronic
Kybett & Boysen, All New Electronics Self-Teaching Guide
Scherz & Monk, Practical Electronics for Inventors
Horowitz and Hill, The Art of Electronics

>Design/verification tools:
LTSpice
falstad.com/circuit/circuitjs.html
NI Multisim
CircuitLab
iCircuit for Macs
KiCAD (pcb layout software, v5+ recommended)

>Components/equipment:
Mouser, Digi-Key, Arrow, Newark (global)
RS Components (Europe)
eBay/AliExpress sellers, especially good for component assortments/sample kits (caveat emptor)
Your local independent retail electronics distributors
ladyada.net/library/procure/hobbyist.html

>Related YouTube channels:
mjlorton