[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 110 KB, 900x873, 50t-52t-54t-56t-58t-Litepro-CNC-lightweight-narrow-wide-chainring-130bcd.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
1349607 No.1349607 [Reply] [Original]

hey guys,

I'm an idustrial designer and huge bike fan.
I love to do a custom cnced chainring.

the thing is I can't asses the cost.
I can create the 3d files no problem but I have no clue if running the cnc mill is actually expansive.
milling the ring would probably take considerable time.

the production ones are usually cold forged and then finished with a cnc mill.
would it make sense to make a rough laser cut of teh chainring befor cncing it ?

>> No.1349610

bonus question:

can somebody tell how to chose an alloy and heattreatment ?
I know the basic difference between 6061 and 7005 and that T6 is the most common heat treatment but about things like 7050 T10 ?

>> No.1349628

>>1349607
Idk much about machining costs, but what do you ride? I'm saging only because this is an unrelated post

>> No.1349739

>>1349607
>milling the ring would probably take considerable time.
Yes, and it will be a huge nightmare to fixture it.
>would it make sense to make a rough laser cut of teh chainring befor cncing it ?
Laser costs per inch. Water-jet is more cost effective, but it's not going to lower the cost much.

Flat parts like this are going to be annoying because the inside features and hole pattern have to be machined first. And then that hole pattern will need to be used to bolt the blank to a subplate that can be held by a vice in the mill. That way the rest of the features that need to be machined can be done in a second (and probably third) operation.

Do you want to spend close to $500 for a fancy super-unique chainring?

>> No.1349748

>>1349607