[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 46 KB, 475x399, Frenchwoman.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
130587 No.130587 [Reply] [Original]

Hey /diy/. I am thinking of converting a van into a camper van just in case I ever end up without a home. How many 12 V batteries would it take for an electrical system that would give me enough electricity to charge a netbook battery, operate a small lamp, and charge a phone for a 2 to 3 week period without recharging the batteries? I am new to this stuff. My ultimate goal is to get some wiring in a van with some power outlets...I am currently doing some reading about basic electronics stuff.

>> No.130593

3 maybe 4, Get some solar panels and you'd only need two and no need to recharge.

>> No.130610

>>130587 12 V batteries
You talking a 12v car battery or a 12v watch battery?

We measure battery capacity in Amp-Hours, where one-amp hour is the ability to supply one amp of current continuously for an hour. When you put batteries in parallel you add up the amp-hours.

An efficient LED reading light will draw maybe 0.1 amps. So running it for 500 hours (three weeks) will require 50 amp hours. Figure out how many amps your appliances draw (should be printed on them) and do the math.

You also need to take into account the fact that batteries lose their charge over time even when not powering anything. Manufacturers should supply a graph on their websites. Deep Cycle batteries are designed to hold a charge as long as possible.

>> No.130611