[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 325 KB, 800x800, bosch-air-angle-grinder.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
1150244 No.1150244 [Reply] [Original]

So, been working robotic welding recently, and I have noticed that I do a lot of grinding, more than usual.

I use my electric corded and cordless grinder, but of course they wear out over time, due to the brushes.

Was thinking, is it worth getting a air angle grinder?
Does anyone have experience with them? I asked around my shop, and no - one has ever used a 4" angle grinder.

>> No.1150288
File: 1.55 MB, 817x715, 10 banks at once.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>1150244
I've been welding out of school at a specialty shop in WI for around 2 years. I've been using the same milwaukee grinders, one of which is a 7", for that entire period and have not had any issues except for the safety triggers. There have been times I've ran the same grinder stripping paint for 4 hours at a shot. You might not be using good angle grinders.

To directly answer your question, yes I've used air tools like that before, but I've found that the wheels are more expensive. Aside from actual cost, you should remember that standard 4 1/2" angle grinders have many different attachments like crimped and cup wire wheels, sanding pads like flap discs, and many different wheels from diamond to aluminum. Along with cutting wheels, the versatility is great.

>> No.1150313
File: 69 KB, 700x525, the obvious.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

are you killing electric grinders daily through dust ingestion?
working in a trench of wet filth?
grinding non-sparking material in an environment of explosive dust?
grinding while diving underwater?

no? you don't need one.
NEXT!

>> No.1150323