[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 49 KB, 593x605, board.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
108920 No.108920 [Reply] [Original]

Hello /diy/,

Here's the results of a high schooler's first time trying out PCB design. It's the control board for a quadrotor that has an XMEGA microcontroller, accelerometer, gyroscope, and CC1101 radio. I'm still new to this kind of stuff, so I would appreciate any sort of feedback on my design. Any electric engineers?

Schematic: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/538662/schematic.png
Schematic file: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/538662/xmegaboard.sch
Board file: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/538662/xmegaboard.brd

Things I'm worried about:
-The rather random routing of the power supply lines
-Running power and other lines below ICs
-Running traces between pin holes for the servo and ESCs
-Placement of crystals and antennas causing interference

Thanks in advance,
Anon

>> No.108937

Your schematic tells me that you're doing a double-sided, surface-mount PCB &, by the looks of it, it's a good routing you've done.

There are a couple of things for you to note:

1. Just because you can automate the routing process, it won't stop you from being able to manipulate the result on your own.

2. Do your best to avoid right-angled traces on a circuit board; try to use diagonal traces in place of right-angled joints.

3. Wherever possible, try your best to make a one-sided PCB that's as condensed as possible. Otherwise, go double-sided.

>> No.108942

if you plan on hand soldering it, i would do something about those caps on the top left.

>> No.108944

>>108942
I'm planning on using solder paste and a frying pan to solder all the components at once. Many of the components at the top left are inductors for the radio, and I'm wary about letting the trace lengths get too long....