[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/ck/ - Food & Cooking

View post   

File: 67 KB, 612x612, 1348815048835.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
4170035 No.4170035[DELETED]  [Reply] [Original]

I need help, I'm going to a trial day for a job as a pastry chef in probably a few days, a family member put in the word for me for this job. The place isn't a shithole but its not a top restaurant, its always busy and has a good reputation. I have never worked aas a chef before and haven't been trained in cooking. The dessert menu is quite simple but I need help as to do's and don'ts, basic principles, how to do well and basically just any advice you can give me.

tl;dr Have trial day for pastry chef, no experience, help.

Thanks, co/ck/s

>> No.4170039

Bump

>> No.4170041

>>4170035

What is that? A stingray?

>> No.4170045

>>4170041
Yes some sort of ray, idk anything about it though found the picture on 4chan.

>> No.4170052

ur screwed my friend it is very unlikely that you can do any baking at a high level. the pastry chef in a restaurant is going to be responsible for baking and garnishing all the desserts i just dont think you are going to be able to pull this off with no experience and training.

the only way you could luck out is if it was a shit hole and all you were doing is thawing out pre packaged cakes and just garnishing them with premade sauces or something.

even then with no culinary training being able to do that is not that likely. please hope its more of a garde manger type job where all your doing is squirting the chip cream and sauces on the desserts and making salads and cold apps that you could probably do in time with help

>> No.4170055

>>4170052