[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/ck/ - Food & Cooking

View post   

File: 26 KB, 550x360, mpw-knorr.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
17284062 No.17284062 [Reply] [Original]

Every time I follow a recipe, I feel like a dunce. My results always turn out better, but I get the idea I should simply follow principles and refine my ability over practice.

Marco Pierre White put this idea in my head, and watching Kenji Lopez sort of drilled it in.

I'm not a professional cook of any kind btw.

>> No.17284076

>>17284062
Usually I follow a recipe by the letter the first time making a dish just to see how the base turns out. After that I make adjustments, starting with seasoning, but eventually I'll do ingredient substitutions and full on variations.

You don't have to follow this if you already know what you like, but its a method that has served me well, especially when I'm using unfamiliar ingredients or trying a type of dish I've little to no experience with.

>> No.17284091

>>17284076
What about when you started out? How did you learn when things should be cooked at a certain temperature. Or intricate things like diced potatoes should be cooked with onions, rather than before.

>> No.17284117

>>17284062
When baking you follow the recipe to the letter like it's a science experiment.
When cooking you can do what you like but if you change the recipe too much you are changing the dish, just be aware of that.

>> No.17284122
File: 2.53 MB, 640x1138, 1642135083123.webm [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

No, properly following recipes is what separates the average CK Taco Bell soybean oil slop enjoyed from a competent amateur cook.

>> No.17284161

>>17284062
That'll come naturally with time. You could try developing everything from scratch, but following recipes just brings you up to speed.

>> No.17284173