[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/ck/ - Food & Cooking

View post   

File: 2.06 MB, 720x646, 618661_bard-bot_jill-stingray-va-11-hall-a-censor.gif [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
14300319 No.14300319 [Reply] [Original]

How would one go about becoming a bartender.
I make a lot of drinks in my free time and always try to make a new cocktail a few times a week.
That said I have no idea how I would go about getting a job as a starting bartender.
I once applied for one years ago while lokoing for a waiter position and they just shut me down saying I have no experience or training.
Should I look to be taking classes to get some "certification"? I live in the States and Maryland specifically.
I don't drink coffee.

>> No.14300335

>>14300319
Apply at a bar. Try to seem cool. Lie about your experience, what are they gonna check

>> No.14300359

>>14300319
challenge their lead bartender to a drink mixing contest

>> No.14300370

>>14300319
Most bartenders I've seen are women, though the best ones are men. I also believe that bartending pays such shit wages that they tend to have multiple jobs.

>> No.14300378

>>14300319
You have to start as a bar-back at a local dive bar or shitty corporate bar and grill chain. You can't touch the booze, you just keep the glasses stocked up, clear tables, and mop up spills. After you do that for awhile they'll probably give you some stupid field test and if you pass congrats now you're a bartender with experience tending bar. Put that on your resume and exaggerate your level of experience to obtain a job at a better bar. Rinse and repeat until you are serving martinis to Prince Andrew. And then you can fucking poison that pedophile piece of shit

>> No.14300388

>>14300370