[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/ck/ - Food & Cooking

View post   

File: 2.85 MB, 426x240, The Bread Rises, a film by Hayao Miyazaki.webm [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
12021426 No.12021426 [Reply] [Original]

Hey /ck/, long time no see. I was wondering if I could get some advice on jobs in the restaurant industry. I know this type of thread crops up fairly often but there's none I could find in the catalog atm. Long story short:
>I hate my current job as a grocery store cashier
>A lot.
>I want to quit but I need a new job first
>I have a college degree in new media with a focus on animation but that's a very tough industry to break into
>I don't want to work in fast food
>I don't have any experience actually working in the kitchen professionally, I'm just a hobbyist
More than a few of my friends and family think I'm some kind of Iron Chef level savant. Probably not true, but I do love to cook and people like what I make, so I figure working as a cook would be good for my sanity and wallet. What's the best approach for me? Should I start as a bus boy and try working my way up? Just got straight for prep cook? I've been looking online for job postings and there's a few for prep cooks in my area that don't list experience as a requirement.

>> No.12021447

>>12021426
I would say find a smaller restaurant like a diner or something and ask for a dishwasher job. Chances are if you do well enough and express interest theyll be willing to give you a shot cooking. Diners are a great place to learn to work fast and adapt to special orders. After a couple years of that, if you want shoot for a job somewhere a little nicer to expand your repitoire.

>> No.12021458

So your degree has completely gone to waste.

>> No.12021460

>>12021426