[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/ck/ - Food & Cooking

View post   

File: 1.24 MB, 2592x1936, image.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
10102116 No.10102116 [Reply] [Original]

I'm a line cook at semi fine dining restaraunt and I see lots of people commenting on things they find hard to understand in recipes from YouTube cooks and bloggers and such. I remember having the same confused questions before I worked in a kitchen and I just want to help some cozy bros out, so ask and I'll answer what I can.
Pic related, something I made at home a few months ago, I know it's nothing special but just to prove I'm not actually a retard. Well not fully at least.

>> No.10102226

>>10102116
Maybe this isn't the kind of question you were going for, but I'll give it a shot. What's the secret to good fried rice? I'm having trouble getting a good texture. My rice usually ends up kinda mushy when compared to a Chinese restaurant or something. I let my rice chill in the fridge overnight and I use an electric wok (which isn't the best, but it's what I have atm). I can never get that nice golden-brown color either, but I suspect that's a sauce thing rather than a cooking technique thing.

>> No.10102256

>>10102226
I'll be honest with you ive never even thought about cooking fried rice but if I had to speculate, you probably need to undercook your rice a little since it will absorb more moisture while frying, which might help reduce the mushy texture. Also I would guess you aren't starting with a really hot pan. as far as colour goes I always assumed that was just a stock soy sauce blend.

>> No.10102274

>>10102256

>colour
>ou

Move along folks, nothing of value to be gained from this thread.

>> No.10102283

bruh this board is for the McChicken

>> No.10102294

>>10102116