[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/biz/ - Business & Finance

View post   

File: 86 KB, 900x900, 1444458877034.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
976173 No.976173 [Reply] [Original]

Canada-fag here. I have 10k lying around in a shitty savings account at my bank (0.8% annual return) and I'd like to do some "fun" investing with it. Not gonna get into options or some shit because that's too risky, not going to let it sit in a Vanguard account cause that's boring + slow, but I'd like to use it to learn how to increase value.

What's my best option here? Should I just learn the stock market and invest there? Should I use it to invest in my own tiny startup in some easy niche? Any other suggestions? I'm currently a university student, tuition paid for by parents and scholarships, so I have a decent amount of free time, but not enough to focus on a business.

>> No.976196

throw it all in activision/blizzard.

you're pretty much gambling that Warcraft is going to be successful and there will be a series of movies/new series of movies from other franchises.

>> No.976198

Buy PETR4 stock.

>> No.976216

Buy low cost commodity stocks. Not highly leveraged companies, but companies that are large enough that they won't go bankrupt.

Bonus points if you find yourself a good dividend yield.

>> No.976289

>>976173

Do you live on your own? Do you have at least 3-6 months of living expenses in emergency savings?

This is priority #1. No point investing if you would need to potentially draw from the money if something happens. Even if your parents pay for most things, having the ability to be independent is nice.

I know you said tuition is paid for, but do you have any outstanding debts?