[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/biz/ - Business & Finance

View post   

File: 175 KB, 456x305, Algorithmictradingsystem.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
933954 No.933954 [Reply] [Original]

Anyone know algo trading?

I'm thinking about getting it in. I'm just wondering if reading a few investment books and implementing an algorithm on their teachings will be enough to get me started, or if it's harder than that.

Also:
>What is the minimum capital to start?
I have 3k liquid and 500 that I grew from 400 riding off HEAR bullshit
>how different is simulated trading from live trading?
>is this a jew scam?

>> No.933955

>>933954
Also, I'm a computer engineer so I should have no problems getting an algorithm working and debugging/tinkering it.

>> No.933963

Well what you need is a statistical trading edge, and if you have that you can design a program around it. The nice thing about algo trading is you can backtest your strategy, and find out objectively it is a true edge, which is a lot better than most of the chucklefucks on this board who think their "buy the breakout" strategy is hot shit.

>> No.933973

>>933954
I have a question are you trying to Get a program for HFT? I mean Programming a basic algorithim to trade for you wouldnt take any longer than an hour in a high end langauge like python. But I would think you are retarded to shit out a 1 hour script and throw money into it right? I really wouldnt read fuck all books when it comes to any trading, they are all generally useless unleess they start with "I cant teach you to be a good trader but heres some advice blah blah blah"
Not sure what the exact point of your thread is other than trading in general itself so ill answer the questions i know from experience
>What is the minimum capital to start?