[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/biz/ - Business & Finance

View post   

File: 34 KB, 430x290, 1522320758495.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
8795137 No.8795137 [Reply] [Original]

For the ppl working in their PhD: Do you like it? Right now I have a job I hate and I am sure that I can't do that for the rest of my life.

I have an offer for a PhD position at a good uni. Con is that I don't know too much about the subject of the department right now (am mathematician, mentor would be engineering, subject a lot of machine learning stuff and blockchain, which I find interesting.

Would you go for a PhD again? I like learning new shit.

I also own REQ so maybe idgaf soon.

>> No.8795164

>>8795137
I like it. Go for it. Will you get a grant?

>> No.8795184

>>8795137
In my 2nd year, astrophysics. I kinda like it but wish I had more free time.

>> No.8795195

I don't think so, in germany it is usual to work at the institute so I get paid okayish for the time working on my PhD. I will have to teach a bit, tho.

>> No.8795209

>>8795164

Was meant to quote this. Also: Thanks!

>> No.8795219

I’m not working on a PhD because I work at Burger King, but I don’t like it

>> No.8795254

I'm not working on a PhD because I realize the entire educational system is monetarily inflated because every fatty with a 2.4 GPA can go.

Maybe I'd go if I was a millionaire but then I'd be going to Stanford of Harvard or Oxford or something.

>> No.8795263

>>8795137