[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/biz/ - Business & Finance

View post   

File: 89 KB, 620x349, art-Tale-20of-20two-20houses2-620x349.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
847081 No.847081 [Reply] [Original]

Hi /biz/
If there's any Aussies on here, I'd like to get your opinion on why the property bubble in Sydney is as ridiculous as it is?
I'm looking for property for me and my gf that is under $600,000 as we're first home buyers and don't want to have to pay off too big a loan and the closest thing we found to Sydney's city centre is Bankstown. In fact, we're seriously considering a move to the Central Coast (which I hate) because of how ridiculous it is to buy atm.
We've already got baby no. 2 on the way and we currently have a two bedroom flat and me and my wife earn slightly below average incomes (I'm a mechanic, my wife is just about to end her hairdressing apprenticeship) but NSW has always been our home and whilst Central Coast is definitely not ideal, it's better then fucking Bankstown.
So anyway, why is the property valued as highly as it is in Sydney and even Melbourne (a mate from VIC paid $850,000 for a house in Oakleigh!)

>> No.847084

I am not an Aussie resident but I believe that you can offset personal tax liability with mortgage repayments. This is insane.

You also have positive migration into the country faster than home building.

Lastly, you have Asians using property as a safe store of wealth.

Like most things, it boils down to simple supply and demand.

Recommended solution?

Stop Asian immigration and house buying.

Seriously. You allowing people to migrate from countries with >50% of the worlds population will only cause problems.

You are now living in times where you will not have as good a standard of living as your parents.

Your parents will have worse standards of living than you.