[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/biz/ - Business & Finance

View post   

File: 98 KB, 1024x600, IMG_00025410.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
757995 No.757995 [Reply] [Original]

Day Trading/Short Selling.
I'm a total noob.

< this stock was recommended by a bizreali, quote -

'SPY will gap up Monday morning; buy SPY puts right at the open, and ride the gap fade down...you can be in and out in under 30 minutes'

Was he right?
What should I be looking at?
What actually happened?
I got the balls to do this stuff, I just get lost in the terminology and chart reading...

I need somebody to explain it to me like I'm a 10 year old, then I will fuck off.

>> No.758056

>>757995
OP. You're gambling with your money. If you must ask questions like this, you should immediately exit / cancel this trade.

I reccomend reading into Day Trading. A great introductory book for me was High Probability Trading by Marcel Link.

>> No.758069

>>757995
>Was he right?
No, SPY gapped down, and then has traded higher ever since the opening. That anon was 100% wrong.

>> No.758450

>>758056
No, this wasn't me, I am not trading at this point, I am slowly learning. This is just a screencap from Yahoo! Finance of the stock in question.

I am dumb enough to think I can make money with dumb luck, but smart enough to know I am not ready.
You can practice this kinda stuff on investopedia, right?

Thanks for book recommendation too.

What the fuck is short selling though?
I tried looking it up, but I got lost in the terminology, I need it explained like apples and oranges type level.

Tommy buys five apples, etc

>> No.758512

>>758450
If you don't understand short selling don't even think about trying it.

And dont think you can just read what it is and then go do it.

This is how people lose money.

> choose all the steak
>pictures of lamb chops