[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/biz/ - Business & Finance

View post   

File: 188 KB, 747x1000, hiEZbJs - Imgur.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
729956 No.729956 [Reply] [Original]

Hey /biz/,

I just landed an unpaid internship at an insurance firm.

I'am currently studying to become a CPA.

Is this a waste of time?

I want experience in working in a corporate environment so i can apply to accounting firms.

I don't know what to expect, its my first time even wearing a business suite.

I have to make time in between work and school?

Is this worth it?
I have to take 2 buses over there and I just landed a job at walmart (lol), im also in college.

Internships are scarce where I'm at.

>> No.729972

>Is this a waste of time?
No.

>Is this worth it?
Yes.

>Internships are scarce where I'm at.
Even more reason to take it.

>> No.729978

>>729972
thanks for the input.

Do accounting employers look for this type of stuff in a resume?

>> No.729985

>>729978
>Do accounting employers look for this type of stuff in a resume?
Nah bro i can't imagine why they'd give a fuck about your relevant experience.

>> No.729993

>>729985
My questioned pertained specifically in regards to insurance.

Insurance isn't relevant.

Would they see it as a + though?

>> No.729995

>>729956
BY GOD SOURCE ON THAT AZZZZ

It's worth it though.

>> No.730000

>>729956
don't take an unpaid internship. if you want to do everyone a favor, accept it and then never show up.

you're better off taking some manual labor job. when you're applying for a full time position at least it shows you're not hard to please and won't constantly complain.

>> No.730004

>>729956
I'm in your exact situation, except my internship is paid and in... Sales? Which I can do, but it's not really ideal. Oh well, I'm getting some licenses too. Good luck.

>> No.730005