[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/biz/ - Business & Finance

View post   

File: 104 KB, 1280x720, maxresdefault.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
598505 No.598505 [Reply] [Original]

/biz/ I need your advice.

Ok, I'm a new engineer out of college. I've been with Toyota for about 2 years.

I got these two guys that are all big on 'a sense of urgency'

It is really starting to irk me. I know what they really mean, they think I'm slow or lazy. I'm neither, I'm respectful and calm.

They work by annoying the shit out of people until things are done. I layer things so people have time to get me what I need. Email one person, then while I wait for a reply, I work on something else, and so on and so forth.

I put a lot of work into stuff. I come in early. I leave late (they leave on the dot, btw). I work weekends. I come in to watch people do their jobs so I will be trained up ahead of time. I work on things from home.

I'm getting really tired of this shit. I work hard and put in a lot of time. I don't like being seen as an inferior employee because I treat people with respect and give them time.

If I wasn't so fresh out of school and wasn't getting paid well, I'd find another job. But as that is not the case, I don't know.

>> No.598509
File: 23 KB, 350x350, 1377719812128.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>598505
Sounds like you need to be looking in another direction. Also, stop putting in overtime, that shit never amounts to anything. Chances are those people giving you shit don't care how much you're actually working, so long as you APPEAR to be working. They're whip crackers, and that's what they do. They know no other way. It surprises me that some of these businesses are still profitable, and sometimes the problem isn't you, it's the company being poorly run.

>> No.598513

>>598509