[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/biz/ - Business & Finance

View post   

File: 96 KB, 2000x2000, internet-computer-icp-logo.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
57715168 No.57715168 [Reply] [Original]

I'm a developer with an IQ of 138, I've thoroughly reviewed the Internet Computer Protocol (ICP) white paper and documentation, along with various blog posts, including those from notable tech companies. Here are a few reasons why I would hesitate to use ICP for my applications:

The current state of the "mainnet" lacks true decentralization. There's no effective decentralized method to evaluate the performance or reliability of a node provider.

The development progress has been slow, taking them years to essentially create centralized nodes, which is not particularly innovative since such systems already exist. This casts doubt on the future prospects and the capabilities of their engineering team.

The white paper fails to clearly outline a viable transition from a centralized framework to a decentralized one. They touch on "decentralized" reputation systems in a superficial manner, as though the challenge of creating a Sybil-resistant decentralized reputation system is a secondary concern, despite it being a significant, unresolved issue in computer science. With years of development time and substantial funding, the lack of detailed technical specifications for this aspect is concerning. It reminds me of promises from other projects that claim they will solve centralization issues in the future, which often remain unfulfilled.