[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/biz/ - Business & Finance

View post   

File: 814 KB, 1080x1088, 1679642712113914.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
54311601 No.54311601 [Reply] [Original]

Hi I'm new to crypto. Can you guys tell me how to hold my own? Do I need a digital wallet or something? Links and other spoon feeding is appreciated.

Thanks.

>> No.54311671

You need to acquire through crypto through an exchange with a fiat onramp or through a person-to-person transaction first. Then you should hold that crypto in a personal digital wallet like Metamask or Exodus. Make sure to write down your keys and keep them in a safe place (NOT stored digitally), since they're your only backup for that wallet if you somehow lose the password for it.

>> No.54311726

>>54311671
So if I just want to buy some bitcoin. Do I need a wallet first and then I go to an exchange a buy it with fiat? What exchange do you guys use?

>> No.54311819

>>54311726
A lot of exchanges may be entering turmoil in the coming months due to regulations. Even major ones like Coinbase and Binance are getting heat. If I were you, I'd use one of those two, unless you're concerned with KYC laws, then maybe try Kucoin?
You can set it up either way, but I'd start with the personal wallet first. Download a wallet app, get it set up, learn what your wallet address is, that kind of thing. Then after that, set up an account on an exchange and buy with fiat (this might take a few days due to interacting with your bank account).
Then, to transfer to your personal wallet, you'd input your personal wallet address and send it. This is the part you should always doublecheck, is that your send address matches your wallet address.
Do a test transaction first, just so you understand what's going on. Even try multiple transactions just in case.