[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/biz/ - Business & Finance

View post   

File: 7 KB, 241x209, download.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
53306260 No.53306260 [Reply] [Original]

Just received an offer to make double the money I currently make, but I am a bit at a crossroads on how to proceed. I already know what I'll probably end up doing but would like some insight from you fucks.

I'm a self-taught webdev working for a small company. It is my second programming job - in total I have around 10 months of formal experience, so not that much, and jumped around between two companys (got fired from the first job).

In my current job I bust my ass and have to do real work, but I have total freedom, I develop everything and can dictate the pace, and I have a great relationship with my superior and the rest of the team - theres no SCRUM, no agile bullshit, I just get sent a task to complete in a week and at the end of the week I have to show the work I've done. So the job environment is awesome, but the pay is low as its a small company.

Now I've received an offer from a friend to work with Machine Learning/AI at a company from a guy he knows - the pay is 1.5 to 2x what I currently make.

The problem is I told my boss when I was hired that I would stay at least a whole year with him, I'm looking for long term partnership, etc...so it would be a bit of a scumbag move, but it would significantly improve my quality of life and the additional money would mean much more entrepeneurship opportunities.

What do?

>> No.53306290

I should detail this, in case it isn't clear enough:

It could be a very risky move because

1. I don't have experience with AI/ML, but could easily learn it as I have high IQ

2. My job history is basically jumping from company to company every 5 months which is no good.