[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/biz/ - Business & Finance

View post   

File: 950 KB, 1000x669, 1409520182584.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
490184 No.490184 [Reply] [Original]

1. I live in a UK city with a few hundred thousand people in it. Does moving to Silicon Valley / London / New York mean it's suddenly easier to make money or be inspired or whatever? Whenever I go to London I kind of feel in awe of how gigantic and active the place is.

2. I'm a student in my final year. Do you ever look at the "prestigious" jobs and think the whole thing is a hyped up scam? Like many people would consider an Investment banker grad job would be incredible, but it's literally 70 + hours per week of boring work. And if you choose to stay longer than 2 years then it's wading up a shitty pyramid.

Same with these "strategy consulting" jobs. The hours aren't bad, but the main selling point of these is that it's easy to get a high up job at a big company after you do them.

I mean literally what? The only people who could be excited by this are people who unironically believe corporate speak. I mean I'm partly convincing myself of these views because I won't get those jobs, but I really do see how people get quarter life crises.

>> No.490185

It's clear you have already formed biases which you are not willing to let go. You've already talked yourself out of these options. Why would you care what I have to say?

>> No.490186

investment banking is less than minimum wage for most, but offers a chance at being 1%.

It also attracts the kind of people who will work to death and don't value cultural things like travelling or art etc.

Also i'm from London, and there are less jobs, because there are so many people here and looking.

6/10 people in London have a degree

The average male height is 6ft