[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/biz/ - Business & Finance

View post   

File: 23 KB, 446x362, 1407809981863.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
480031 No.480031 [Reply] [Original]

Hello Biz

I am an accounting student, from a "target school" in California with a 3.2 and likely an internship or two. A lot of my fellow older students with the same qualifications have jobs before they graduate, so I am not worried too much about that.

Apparently most public companies require you to have 150 units to be eligible for the CPA. The only problem is that from what I hear jobs in the public sector have an insane amount of hours, I am willing to do 50 hours a week but anything over that is a no-no. No money in the world is worth that for me. I heard that big 4 are notorious for having grueling work hours.

Do I really need the 150 units or the CPA? Are there 40-50 hours jobs in the public sector? How hard would it find a job in the private sector straight out of college?

Thank you.

>> No.480159

>>480031
I'm a California CPA license holder and let me clarify some points to you.

You need 150 credit hours now to be eligible to sit for the CPA exam. On or before 12/31/2013, it was 120 credit hours.

Everything that I will say from now on is based on the 150 credit hours. To get the CPA license, you need a year of general accounting experience and I believe California requires their CPAs to have 500 hours of attestation experience. You need to engage yourself with planning, testing, documentation, assist in creation of the financial statements in an audit within or more than the 500 hours attestation requirement.