[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/biz/ - Business & Finance

View post   

File: 72 KB, 526x351, speeddate.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
383883 No.383883[DELETED]  [Reply] [Original]

Is working in McDonalds or Burger King worth it for minimum wage? It's just a summer job and I'm a student.

I worked in a kitchen (unknown company) last year and felt like I gained nothing except from the money. It was a brainless job.

I guess it's recognisable on a CV but I get the impression that employers give no shits about it (although i know there will always be people here who say that it demonstrates x,y, and z).

I'm going to apply, but the only benefit will be that I'll find it so brainless that I'll be desperate to do something productive when I get home (learn programming or a language)

>> No.383893

As long as it isn't in a ghetto area.

>> No.383918

>>383883
Hey man, I worked at one from 15-18 years old.
Went from grill bitch to grill messiah.
Became an assistant manager at 17.
Ask to be in the grill, it's a fuck load of work, but you don't have to deal with fat assholes.

As for actual marketable skills:
Ability to work under intense pressure.
Incredible sense of urgency.
Ability to monitor and track things such as times food expires, including temperatures which you must remember.

It's more than you would think.
They offered me salary but I went to college.
Now I'm out and working as a recruiter for an IT staffing firm.

>> No.383922
File: 2 KB, 93x125, avacado.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>383918
Also, this was at McDonalds.
I started at $7.15.
Now min wage is at least a dollar more than that?
CPI/inflation hasn't risen too much so you're getting a pretty good deal.

Another thing, ask to learn truck orders and to count and bring in food stock.
Those add to some skills, budgeting, stock.. etc.