[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/biz/ - Business & Finance

View post   

File: 471 KB, 512x288, 1600988529596.gif [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
22991187 No.22991187 [Reply] [Original]

Was talking with a few newfriends last night and said I would post one basic process for secure cold wallet generation and storage. There are many other ways, maybe even better ways, but this is one basic method outlined for total noobs on how to securely generate keys offline and store them for worst case scenarios. (IE you will have a physical backup of your seedphrase that is more durable than paper)

You will need:
USB flash drive
Etcher - (etcher.net)
Latest version of TAILS (tails.boum.org)
Alphanumeric punches (amazon.com/gp/product/B07ZFB5J15)
Steel blanks (amazon.com/gp/product/B0854GCPSM)

So first you're going to do a full format on your USB drive. Obviously this will wipe it so back up anything you want to keep. After format, download etcher portable and the latest image of TAILS from their respective websites. Etcher is fairly self explanatory, select the drive, select the TAILS image and let it go to work. When it's done, your USB drive is now essentially a closed, amnesic OS that you will use to boot your system. This will ensure that nothing you do while working in TAILS will be saved in your PCs memory or logs in any form. (There is some debate about this but 99.99% secure)