[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/biz/ - Business & Finance

View post   

File: 42 KB, 454x453, 1485278056926.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
1756524 No.1756524 [Reply] [Original]

Okay guys I am new to stocks. I want to jump into share buying but acouple things I don't get that maybe you guys can answer.

1. When talking about returns, does this mean percentage on stock value or actual cash return to your portfolio? If so, is the return rate yearly, monthly, or quarterly?

2. Is it better to not hold onto shares and play the trading game or hold onto shared and wait out returns(unless the company fails)

3. What stock exchange firm/software do you recommend? I'm using Robinhood at this moment

4. As someone new getting into stocks, is it best to invest $1000 to start or test the waters and do small investments over time to build up to that?

5. How do stocks effect US tax filing and returns?

Thanks /biz/

>> No.1756532

>>1756524
Bump

>> No.1756539

>>1756524
1. Depends on who you're asking and the context. Usually meant in terms of return on investment (ROI), i.e. the return on the cash you initially invested. Both total ROI and annual ROI are common and useful metrics. Never heard about someone using monthly or quarterly returns.
2. Divisive issue with fierce proponents at each side. Holding is obviously easier. Short-term trading is riskier and can lead to higher gains, but more often than not you end up with lower returns than the general market/index.