[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/biz/ - Business & Finance

View post   

File: 24 KB, 409x379, 1568245790860.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
16729510 No.16729510 [Reply] [Original]

I'm a wagie who knows little about business, finance, or economics, but I've been working since I was 16, lived at home for free, and now I'm 21 and have almost $60k saved up. I'm a manager at a restaurant now (started as a busboy) but idk if I should keep working here (good steady job, everyone knows and likes me, but doesn't pay great) or if I should go to college or if I should invest my money or buy property. Any advice on what you would do with $60k at 21 with no debt? The financially successful boomers around me keep telling me to buy property somewhere trendy like LA, seattle, denver, etc but I keep reading that now is not a good time to buy a home, is this true? Or should I invest in stocks? Should I just keep working here and save more, or should I strike out to finally live my own life somewhere? There is also a chance the owner will sell me the restaurant in like 8 years for a super low price, but that's several years away and idk if I want my career to be running a restaurant

>> No.16729549

What you should do with your money depends on your life goals.

If you're ultra depressed and going to suck start a shotgun before you're 25, you should blow it all on heroin and hookers.

If you're investing long term, look up Roth IRAs, open one up at Vanguard, throw $12k into target date funds near your planned retirement date, and throw the remaining $48k into a normal brokerage account. Then don't look at the account balances for a couple decades.

If you want to live on the edge, buy crypto.