[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/biz/ - Business & Finance

View post   

File: 144 KB, 1600x800, 6436436431634.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
1577145 No.1577145 [Reply] [Original]

Why do college graduates get so upset with positions require experience?

I'm a hiring manager for a big accounting firm and let me give you some reality.

Employers look at every thing you've done since you've turned 18. Education is just 1 thing. Education doesn't get you jobs, it is a requirement. For our CPAs, you are expected to have an accounting degree with a CPA license. It is no different than a factory expecting you to have a high school diploma and GED and able to pass a drug test and background check. It is not a free ticket to a job, it is the minimal requirement.

Employers don't give two shits about your GPA. They look at internships and organizations you were in and what jobs you held while studying. I can care less if you got a 4.0GPA and aced your CPA exam. Why didn't you do more? We have another applicant that worked a full time job while getting the same degree as you. We had a lady work 2 part time jobs to take care of her child while getting the same degree as you. We had a man that worked part tile and went away on weekends for Army Reserve training while getting the same degree as you, and at the same time President of the accounting club.

Stop thinking your ticket is some free ticket to a job and you don't have to do anything else. You aren't a special snowflake for getting a college degree. So when you end up at your bottom of the barrel job at a staffing agency making $17/hour doing payroll or not even lucky to find such a shitty job and become a supervisor at some warehouse babysitting Mexicans, you are the only person to blame. Stop pointing fingers. Try harder next time.

>> No.1577149