[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/biz/ - Business & Finance

View post   

File: 2.72 MB, 385x280, 1460414164014.gif [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
1193070 No.1193070 [Reply] [Original]

Hi /biz/

I run my own company. I'm a freelance graphic designer, I do lots of branding and identity for businesses as well as promotional material and what not. I have a sole proprietorship set up and make my own income through that. My goal is really to expand, get an office, hire an account manager and jr. designer so I can focus more of my time on the part of the job that I love the most, the creativity.

I'm just wondering, what's the best way to go about doing this? Keep scrimping my money away until I have enough to hire someone on? Do I apply for a loan? I'm in Canada by the way. It just seems like I need some startup money to take the business from the level it's at now (home office, single employee handling everything) to where I want it to be. I don't even know if I'm being clear with what I'm asking here but any advice on how to take my business to the next level would be appreciated. Is applying for a bank loan the best way to go? How do I determine my own salary vs what goes into the "company's wallet"? Any resources that you know of for me to look at and gauge eventual employees salaries? I'm kind of in the dark here for most of this stuff.

Pic unrelated.

>> No.1193105

>>1193070
First thing to do OP: Stop that sole proprietorship. If shot goes wrong it's your pocket so no safety net. Step two, find out the amount you need to survive and the amount your business needs. Then get a loan, build some controllable debt but don't go crazy now

>> No.1193124

>>1193070

In the early stages of a business like this one, I would just do everything yourself.