[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/biz/ - Business & Finance

View post   

File: 52 KB, 680x765, ED78A4C6-0A27-4C09-B972-F91ACBCBABED.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
10061943 No.10061943 [Reply] [Original]

/biz/ I need job advice. Hoping you can all stop screeching about bears and bulls for 5 minutes to help.

I have a masters in math, degree in secondary ed, and graduated a few years ago. Been working as an adjunct teacher at the college since then. I did it because I enjoy teaching college since you experience far less babysitting and everyone there more or less lets you just teach and get into it and they’re mostly adults. Tried other levels and it fucking sucks.

The insurance is terrific, but it pays like ass. Unfortunately full time professor openings come very rarely and I feel stuck in a rut. The problem is I absolutely NEED the insurance. I’ve got Crohns Disease which I get a shot each month to keep under control to prevent debilitating pain. Tried diet changes and it helps a bit, but I’m too worried about suddenly needing treatment again to go without good insurance for too long.

Basically:
>Stuck in teaching job that pays ass but has good insurance
>Scared to leave good insurance job because it’s not guaranteed it’d be there for me again if things didn’t work out in a new job
>Feel like life is stagnating and trapped

What the fuck should I do? I got a math masters since I just like math, and I kind of like being a prof, but didn’t have a clear vision about what I can do with it beyond that and getting in as a prof is fucking hard.

Thanks /biz/

>> No.10061989

>>10061943
Actuary

>> No.10062020

Electrician. You need math skills, so you'll already be ahead, it's highly in demand and they make quite a bit of money

>> No.10062069