[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/3/ - 3DCG

View post   

File: 161 KB, 1080x946, DO183F7WsAAaPbU.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
725990 No.725990 [Reply] [Original]

Quake style low poly retro models. Modelling and animating. In blender???

Hello /3/ I'm an indie dev, aspiring to make a dusk inspired retro flavoured fps that pays homage to the gems I grew up playing (quake and doom). I know that's nothing new and remarkably original (wrath, dusk, prodeus, etc). But one step more above being a contrarian edgelord who shoots down other peoples goals, is not giving a fuck about contrarian negative edgelords who shoot down other peoples goals. I'm doing it despite the fact that there's a whole trend of people doing this.

Now I'm comfortable modelling in blender, and I can paint textures very comfortable. But how do I learn to animate a model like this?

Is there a go-to tutorial, or site that will teach me to go from concept/turnaround to model to animated ingame character ?

Thanks for your efforts or interest.

>> No.725991
File: 642 KB, 2202x1241, 123.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

Here's some stuff of mine from the past so you can see I'm quite serious about this and give me your high hanging fruit advice reserved for only the most worthy anons.

old zombie project:
https://streamable.com/zgpjz

old zombie project:
https://streamable.com/8mvxn

recent fps controller project:
https://streamable.com/ijz3p

>> No.725997
File: 51 KB, 655x527, apu_read.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>725990
you'd have to retopo, create a really basic rig and skin it, loads of tutorials on that on youtube, especially connected to whichever game engine, whatever you use.
-
Then use the rig for animation. I'd suggest to just follow a basic walk cycle tutorial and start with that.
-