Quantcast
[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / g / ic / jp / lit / sci / tg / vr ] [ index / top / reports / report a bug ] [ 4plebs / archived.moe / rbt ]

Maintenance is complete! We got more disk space.
Become a Patron!

/3/ - 3DCG

View post   

[ Toggle deleted replies ]
File: 173 KB, 560x470, 1571696007332.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google] [report]
712705 No.712705 [Reply] [Original]

I fucking hate 3D. I've been doing this shit for almost 8 years and it never ever gets less time-consuming. I'm working on a game on my own, I'm not doing this as a passion but as a necessity (I refuse to use pre-made assets aside from the photoscanned nature stuff).

The worst things are the small props. These should take little to no time to make but they are often the most time consuming assets to create. Let's say I need some assets for a pantry, or a storage room. That would mean that I (obviously) have to model them one by one (games require tons of them nowdays to make scenes look believable), bake them, create textures from scratch and also do some freaking graphic design in illustrator for each and every brand (if I'm modeling soda cans, food cans, cleaner bottles and whatnot).

That means it takes weeks and months just to model that kind of stuff, and the sad thing is that players won't even notice them. They'll enter the room, will search it for 5 seconds and will leave.

I'm so fucking TIRED holy shit. I can understand why many indie devs are going back to older/simpler aesthetics. Games aren't art displays and in the end it doesn't matter all that much.

Thank you for listening.

>> No.712706

>>712705
>I can understand why many indie devs are going back to older/simpler aesthetics.
Seems like this could be solution to your problem? You're trying to bite much more than you can chew, I'm afraid.

>> No.712707

>>712706

It's too late for that. I'm too far into the game and I can't just start over from scratch.

>> No.712709

>>712707