[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/3/ - 3DCG

View post   

File: 576 KB, 1280x720, 1555482207921.webm [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
678253 No.678253 [Reply] [Original]

How badly did I dun goof? I invested the past 4 years into strictly programming maya and opengl and as a result couldnt animate worth a lick. Then I took a break from programming and forgot some of it as I was forced into the painful painful working world. This is what I've completed in the past day and its pitiful. I just start little day projects now and dont refine anything because I hit a brickwall in terms of skill.

What do? This is strictly maya / arnold btw

>> No.678327

>>678253
NOTE: I want to starting this of by saying I am still learning animation and fairly new to it, don't take what I say as truth. Just trying to provide some criticism.

The anticipation at the beginning when it pulls back before going forwards is to quick and too exagerated.
Less pull back, make it ease into the pull back and make it take longer.
In fact most of the animation is too quick you can barely tell whats going on.
The second shot was so fast I almost missed it the first time. You could probably remove it and have the camera rotate with the UFO in the first shot or remove the third shot and have the camera rotate with it on the second shot.
The very last shot is fine, maybe just give the UFO a little more time to ease in and out some more.

>> No.678421

If your worried about getting a job, focus on your skills, tool programming, animators rely on tools. Don't know what tools animators wish they had, just ask.

>> No.678604

>>678421
auto rigs? maya plugins that are hardware accelerated? What else?

>> No.681528

>>678253
The animation looks a little evenly timed. If you add some in and out frames the animation could look more natural.