[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/3/ - 3DCG

View post   

File: 1.08 MB, 1360x999, facial topology - sintel 01.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
464900 No.464900 [Reply] [Original]

Hey /3/. I'm a novice modeler (been studying for about 6 months now) and am trying for the third time to learn a proper method for modeling human heads so that I can start modeling characters.

Creating a head with proper topology for animation seems to be my biggest issue. I feel like I understand the core concept, which is the edge loops flow like the muscles under the skin, but building the model with this topology in mind seems to be where my workflow breaks down.

I'll be in Maya, have my reference set up, and have a decent shape built, and just can't figure out the appropriate way to make the topology flow like in all the pictures I see.

Can anyone recommend some literature or lectures that can maybe make the process of creating the topology as you model more understandable? I feel like I'm kind of banging my head against a brick wall with this.

>> No.464901

How detailed do you plan to go? If you're going for an ultra high res/detail model with actual muscle systems then this might be more important, But if you're just going to be rigging with joints / deformers then it isn't as big an issue.
Accurate facial topology is important, but i get the feeling you think it's more important than it needs to be. Most tutorials you find on youtube/via google will show you how to create adequate topo, and most of it starts with with a base a lot lower poly than that pic.