[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/3/ - 3DCG

View post   

File: 137 KB, 889x551, shittyrobot.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
426145 No.426145[DELETED]  [Reply] [Original]

Hey 3! i use maya, i'm a beginner and can;t manage to find how to make this shit work, i want this to look smooth but never found nor managed to make it look smooth only polygon clunky, i know that the smoothing exists but the edges that are supposed to be sharp are converted to putty, help pleaseee?!

>> No.426149

Smoothing doesn't work well on triangulated meshes. You're going to have to delete all the diagonal edges.

>> No.426157

>>426149
i triangulated them because it looked even worse with plane faces, is there a way to make smooth and sharp faces in the me mesh? or i better think of moving to something like zbrush?

>> No.426160

>>426157
you can control the sharpness of smoothed angles by adding more edge loops or by manually hardening the normals on certain edges and setting the smooth tool to conserve hard edges.
zBrush and every other 3D package is exactly the same way. There is no smooth tool that can read your mind and just know what edges to keep hard and what to make smooth.

>> No.426164
File: 1.27 MB, 586x484, hardSmooth edges.gif [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>> No.426173

>>426160
yes, i know that no program will ever fulfill your expectations so i'm asking if you can have hard and smooth edges in the same mesh, what you said seems to be what i'm looking for, could you please tell me how i can make the smoothing conserve the hard edges in some parts?

>> No.426175

>>426173
select the edges and go to normals>Harden Edge and then in the smooth tool settings check "hard Edges"

>> No.426177
File: 686 KB, 300x306, aaaababy.gif [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>426175
oh god YES,FINALLY thanks a lot