[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/3/ - 3DCG

View post   

File: 57 KB, 640x960, 1371091033182.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
375425 No.375425[DELETED]  [Reply] [Original]

So, I know /3/ thinks learning 3d via a school is a waste of money, but how do I go about learning on my own?

I've been fucking around for a few months now, and though I know the ins and outs of my programs, my actual skills at 3d aren't really getting better.

Picture unrelated

>> No.375446

I hate 4Chan for slagging school. It's true you can lean the software and shit on your own and schools are expensive as fuck, but the value of a school -- the right one that is -- can be worth it especially if you want to further go into a career.

Art is something that you need feedback to become any good at it. A school environment is a great place. You got teachers who hopefully are great at what they do and students who can point out mistakes and problems that you would miss normally. (That human model may look good to you but everyone else can see how you fucked up the hips or something.)

If you can't afford school, go join a 3D modelling community online and practice there and submit stuff for evaluation by others. And practice. A lot.

>> No.375447

>>375425
sticky and google and practice
and sage

>> No.375457

Learn the basics, then sign up for Gnomon Master classes. They'll teach you not just technical skills, but art theory, and you'll have a teacher who is actually successful in the industry, not someone who failed and fell back on teaching for DigitalTutors lol.

>> No.375624 [DELETED] 

>>375457
>Gnomon Master classes

Can you link me?

>> No.375625

>>375457
Can you give me a run through of all the classes I should be looking into on gnomon?

Not sure what I should bet taking? You say master classes. but which?

>> No.375648